♫♪ I Hope You Dance.. ♪♫

“Music is what feelings must sound like.. ” – Anonymous

– And lyrics, in my perception, are the words that one simply cannot find sometimes to express those feelings.

Strikingly, many a times, the words that fall out amidst the beautiful background scores that we’re almost drowning in, seem so perfect to what we have in mind or what we want to say to someone or simply a situation that we’re swimming in – I know that a million more could relate to the very same feeling.

When it comes to gifting or surprising another – I’m someone who believes that there’s no better way to do it than to fashion something out of your own heart and put it through rather than buying cards with printed notes on them – Having said that, everytime that I have sat down to hand-make a present and write what my heart would want to say, I find myself almost instinctively singing a song!

Every such message that I have wanted to put across might carry some words by me but it has always included a line or two from a song that has spoken up for me much more than I could have for myself !

When my son ( our first born) turned 1 last year , I simply couldn’t stop singing this one song all day – The words were simply beyond perfect and seem to have carried exactly what I would like him to know and understand for a lifetime. And so this is what I ended up writing on his first birthday card which has been kept aside to hand over when he is 16 just so that he knows EXACTLY what I felt and wanted to say to him when he turned one –

” Around this time last year, I was praying with every breath I took in the labor room, that you may come out just fine and healthy no matter what I have to go through for it…With a blink of an eye you turn 1 tonight and it almost scares me how soon time passed and ur all grown up, from a little baby to a little boy…And I know it’s just a matter of few more such blinks and you’ll know your way around the world without any of us by your side..There is so much I want to tell you and so much I wish for you to understand..So I’m going to do it in the way I do best and in the way that you love the most…


♫ I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
GOD forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.
I hope you dance….
I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance,
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,
Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’,
Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to sellin’ out, reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance,
I hope you dance … ♫

A beautiful composition originally written by Mark Sanders and Tia Sillers and recorded by Lee Ann Womack in the year 2000 and also eternally known as her signature song. The cover version by Ronan Keating is what I have uploaded here. A song that has been on “repeat” mode on my playlist ever since it was released !

Although this was a message intended for my son, I believe it is something that should be conveyed and deeply pondered upon by all children and adults alike today.

Just like this beauty, a million more breath taking compositions have often found their place in my heart and taken a home there until they’ve found me tongue tied for words at some point and assisted me by simply flowing out at the right time, emotion, place and for the right person.

This new column on my blog is to be further dedicated to these beautiful melodies and lyrics and to those eternally cherished moment in times when the music has spoken to me.

9 thoughts on “♫♪ I Hope You Dance.. ♪♫

  1. Beautiful memories of the Birth of your Son.. and yes time passes by so fast.. Each moment is precious.. Keep Singing and Dancing.. My own son had his 40th this year.. Gulp!.. And I can remember vividly the day he chose to come into this world 🙂 like only yesterday xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

